a person reading a newspaper next to a laptop computer

Financial Times and Schroders announce new partnership for Business Book of the Year Award

Last Updated on: 22nd November 2023, 12:03 am

The Financial Times and Schroders have agreed a new partnership for the prestigious FT Business Book of the Year Award.

Now in its nineteenth year, the industry-leading prize highlights ground-breaking books that explore important business and economic issues. The award is given to the book that the judges agree provides the most compelling and enjoyable insight into today’s business issues, including management, finance and economics. The winner will receive an award of £30,000 and £10,000 will be awarded to each shortlisted title.

FT editor Roula Khalaf said: “I’m delighted to welcome Schroders as partner for our  long-running and acclaimed Business Book of the Year Award. I’m also grateful to Nikkei for supporting this year’s prize. It has been a bumper year for business books and I look forward to reviewing the longlisted titles with our expert judges.”

Schroders’ Group Chief Executive Peter Harrison said: “We’re proud to support a prize which showcases the sharpest and most visionary thinking in the fields of business, economics, environment and society. The authors and their books inevitably grapple with many of the world’s biggest challenges – something which is fundamental also to our role in looking after clients’ money.”

The judging panel for the Business Book of the Year Award, chaired by Roula Khalaf comprises:

  • Mimi Alemayehou, Founder and Managing Partner, Semai Ventures LLC
  • Daisuke Arakawa, Managing Director for Global Business, Nikkei Inc
  • Mitchell Baker, Chief Executive Officer, Mozilla Corporation; Chairwoman, Mozilla Foundation
  • Peter Harrison, Group Chief Executive, Schroders
  • Herminia Ibarra, Charles Handy Professor of Organisational Behaviour, London Business School
  • James Kondo, Chairman, International House of Japan
  • Randall Kroszner, Norman R. Bobins Professor of Economics, University of Chicago’s Booth School of Business
  • Shriti Vadera, Chair, Prudential Plc and Royal Shakespeare Company

The longlist for the Business Book of the Year Award will be announced on August 14, with the shortlist announcement scheduled for September 21. The winner will be announced at an awards dinner in London on December 4.

Previous winners of the book award include: Chris Miller in 2022 for Chip War: The Fight for the World’s Most Critical Technology, which explored the fight for semiconductors and the quest for supply chain resilience; Nicole Perlroth in 2021 for This Is How They Tell Me the World Ends: The Cyberweapons Arms Race, an analysis of the threat posed by the arms race between cyber criminals, spies and hackers fighting to infiltrate essential computer systems; Sarah Frier in 2020 for No Filter, on the rise of Instagram; Caroline Criado Perez in 2019 for Invisible Women, her exposé of gender bias; John Carreyrou in 2018 for Bad Blood, about the Theranos scandal; and Amy Goldstein in 2017 for Janesville, which looks at the impact of plant closures on a Wisconsin town.

For more information about the awards, visit businessbook.live.ft.com and follow the conversation at #BBYA23.



Share this article
Shareable URL
Prev Post

2023 cashless payment trend survey reveals just 17% of UK consumers prefer paying in cash

Next Post

Celebrate International Cat Day with Free Cat eCards from Hope Spring

Read next